Guinea-Bissau - 0 Day



Country in West Africa
Guinea-Bissau is a tropical country on West Africa’s Atlantic coast that’s known for national parks and wildlife. The forested, sparsely populated Bijagós archipelago is a protected biosphere reserve. Its main island, Bubaque, forms part of the Orango Islands National Park, a habitat for saltwater hippos. On the mainland, the capital, Bissau, is a port with Portuguese colonial buildings in its old city center.
Near the Senegal border in the north, Varela is a notable beach community in Varela National Park, reached over rugged terrain from the town of São Domingos. Bordering a nearby river, Rio Cacheu Mangroves Natural Park is a habitat for migrating birds. There’s hiking and boating in Cantanhez Forest National Park, near the country’s southern tip. Lagoas de Cufada Natural Park, farther north, is a wetlands region full of marshes and river channels. Occupying a remote island offshore, João Vieira e Poilão National Marine Park is a nesting site for sea turtles.

Top Sights

Capital of Guinea-Bissau
Bissau is the capital city of Guinea-Bissau, on the coast of West Africa. It’s near the point where the Geba River meets the Atlantic Ocean. Bissau Velho, the old city center, is filled with decaying Portuguese colonial buildings. Nearby, Fortaleza d’Amura is an old fort still used by the country’s military. Up the road, the war-damaged former Presidential Palace has a neoclassical facade.
Along the riverfront is the Pidjiguiti port, where a monument marks the site of a massacre of striking dockworkers in 1959. A local market in the Bandim area offers intricate wood carvings and textiles. More African handicrafts are on display at the National Ethnographic Museum. The city is a jumping-off point for the Bijagós Islands, known for sandy beaches and wildlife like sea turtles, water birds and hippos.
Bissagos Islands
Group of islands in Guinea-Bissau
The Bissagos Islands, also spelled Bijagós, are a group of about 88 islands and islets located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of the African nation of Guinea-Bissau. The archipelago was formed from the ancient delta of the Rio Geba and the Rio Grande and spans an area of 1,295,850 Hectares. Only some 20 islands are populated year-round, namely Bubaque which is where the Bissagos administrative capital is situated and is the most populated island, Bolama, Carache, Caravela, Enu, Formosa, Galinhas, João Vieira, Maio, Meneque, Orango, Orangozinho, Ponta, Roxa, Rubanhe, Soga, Unhacomo, Uno, and Uracane. There is a high diversity of ecosystems: mangroves with intertidal zones, palm forests, dry and semi-dry forests, secondary and degraded forests, coastal savanna, sand banks and aquatic zones. The archipelago was declared in 1996 a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve—Boloma Bissagos Biosphere Reserve, known for animals including marine turtles, hippopotamus and the southern islands are today a nature reserve.


Island in Guinea-Bissau
Orango is one of the Bijagós Islands, located 60 kilometers off the coast of mainland Guinea-Bissau, it is the third largest in the archipelago being 122.7 km², its length and width is 22.5 km. It is the centre of the Ilhas de Orango National Park and has one town, Eticoga. The island is separated by Rio Anabaca 400 meters long with Canongo and Meneque, in the south, a seaprate meandering 75 meters long separates the smaller island of Imbane from Orango. Nearby islands includes Orangozinho in the east, Uno in the northwest and Uracane in the north. It belongs to the Uno Sector, until 2004 it was part of the Bubaque Sector. Orango is known for its saltwater hippopotamuses. It was the seat of Okinka Pampa until her death in 1930.
Island in Guinea-Bissau
Orangozinho is an island in the Bissagos Islands, Guinea-Bissau, it is part of the Bolama Region and the Bubaque sector. Its area is 107 km², its length is 19 km and its width is 11.8 km. The island forms a part of the Orango Islands National Park. Neighbouring islands and islets includes Bubaque to the north, Roxa or Canhabaque to the northeast, Cavalos to the east, Meneque to the west and Canogo to the northwest, the two latter islands are separated by a channel which its narrowest is 400 m distant and the widest is 2 km. The sector boundary with Bubaque and Uno are to the west and Canogo is in the Uno Sector.

You can send your inquiry via the form below.

Book With Us Now!!